VII. SOYBEAN GERMPLASM CROP ADVISORY COMMITTEE BYLAWS FEBRUARY 1984 (adopted)

<u>Membership</u>: The Soybean Germplasm Advisory Committee will consist of 14 members. The curators of the northern and southern portion of the collection, the research geneticists working with the germplasm collection at each location, and a representative from the National Program Staff will serve as *ex officio* members. All *ex officio* members will have full voting privileges and may hold committee offices.

The remaining nine committee members will be elected to the committee to represent various geographical and/or research areas as follows:

- 1. Private breeder, north
- 2. Private breeder, south
- 3. Public breeder, north
- 4. Public breeder, south
- 5. Pathologist or nematologist
- 6. Pathologist or nematologist
- 7. Entomologist
- 8. Physiologist or biochemist
- 9. Cytogeneticist or molecular geneticist

Terms of office: Committee members will be elected to three-year terms and may serve no more than two consecutive terms. After an absence of at least one year from the committee, a former two-term member is eligible for membership again. Terms will begin following the annual meeting held in conjunction with the Soybean Breeders' Workshop in late February.

<u>Committee officers</u>: The committee shall have two elected officers, chair-person and vice-chairperson. Each officer will be elected to a one-year term at the committee's annual meeting to serve the following year and may serve no more than five consecutive terms. After an absence of at least three years from the office, a former five-term officer is eligible for re-election to that post.

The duties of the committee chairperson include coordinating annual elections, notifying members of meetings, chairing meetings, and other duties as necessary to fulfill the committee's responsibilities. The vice-chairperson shall record the proceedings of all meetings and assist the chairperson as requested.

<u>Elections</u>: Each year, three members will be elected in the following manner:

- Year 1: Entomologist

 Northern breeder, public

 Cytogeneticist or molecular geneticist
- Year 2: Southern breeder, private
 Physiologist
 Pathologist or nematologist (position A)
- Year 3: Northern breeder, private
 Southern breeder, public
 Pathologist or nematologist (position B)

By November 1 of each year, the chairperson will send a request for nominations for each position for which the incumbent's term expires the following February. These requests will be sent to those whose discipline and geographical areas are the same as the qualifications for the open committee position. All nominations must be received by the chairperson by November 30. If more than two nominations are received for any position, the chairperson will send all nominations to the committee and each member may vote for two candidates for each position. The ballots from this primary election must be sent by December 7 and returned to the chairperson by January 7. A final ballot with the top two candidates for each position will be sent to the committee by January 10. These ballots must be returned to the chairperson by January 27. The chairperson will then notify the newly elected members so that they may attend the annual meeting in late February. The newly elected members will officially begin their terms after that meeting but will be invited to attend as observers.

Rule changes: These rules may be amended by a majority vote (8) of the committee members.