

Ethel J. Bouffleur

Ethel J. Bouffleur, instructor in art at Iowa State College from 1922 to 1924, and at present director of art at State Teachers' College, Oshkosh; Wis., has been awarded the Julia C. G. Piatt Memorial Fellowship.

The fellowship provides for study in any branch of learning and is open to American women intending to enter the teaching profession, preference being given to those who have had successful experience in teaching and at least two years of graduate study.

Miss Bouffleur received her B. A. degree at the University of Washington in 1920, and completed work for her M. A. degree at the University of Chicago in 1925.

She has since engaged in extensive art work and cooperated with Professors Erwin Christensen and Theodore Karwoski of the University of North Dakota in standardizing their art appreciation tests.

Miss Bouffleur wishes to make a study of art as presented in the elementary schools of France, and in the school of Professor Franz Cizek in Vienna, with the aim of developing a technique of approach to free expression in children's art.

Kathryn McCarney

An interesting account of her work has been received from Kathryn Mc-Carney, '26, who since April 1 has been in charge of the Home Service Department of the Missouri Utilities Company at Cape Giradeau, Missouri,

Kathryn's work on complaint calls takes her into homes where she adjusts oven controls and gas burners, and gives aid in cooking problems.

Other than this work she carries on a lecture program, giving three radio lectures each week besides talking to any group such as Parent Teacher Associations etc., which call for a speaker.

Recently she cooperated with the local newspaper in conducting a cook-

ing school, and will very soon edit the Home Economics column for the same paper.

New Positions

When high schools in the Middle West open in the fall, many will have on their faculties former Iowa State girls. Former graduate women who have received new appointments are: Nelle Mericle, '25, Albia; Ethel Ruemper, '26, Red Oak; Anna Paul, '26, Nevada; Gertrude Corfe, '26, Stuart; Merian Johnson, '25, Albert Lea, Minn.; Stella Hackett, '27, Avoca; Helen Siebels, '26, Harvard, Ill.; Bertha Fritzsche, '22, Graceland College, Lamoni; Dorothy Laros, '26, Brooklyn; Florence Peters, '27, Dumont; Alice Marie Harper, '24, Stanhope.

June graduates who have already received positions are: Verna Rader, Prescott; Portia Hutchinson, Allerton; Esther Goodwin, Algona; Mary Dannen, Monona; Anna Marie Johnson, Titonka; Muriel Body, Calumet; Margaret Looft, Winthrop; Helen Ives, Collins; Marie Peterson, Jewell; Priscilla Burroughs, Colfax; Cynthia Hughes, Greene; Helen Smith, Estherville.

Edythe Carlson, Finchford Consolidated School, Janesville; Marguerite Jeffries, Wall Lake; Alice Vick, DeWitt; Leona Antisdale, Lake View; Mildred Gieske, Hudson; Wilma Gardner, Wapello; Martha Ruby, Glidden; Frances Nuckolls, Orange City; Margaret Brown, Plymouth, Ill.; Bernice Millerke, Scranton; Vera Schmeiser, Argyle; Frances Fish, Belle Plaine; Gertrude Bekman, Hinckley, Ill.; Bessie Fluke, Stanton.

Iva Jamison, Pierre, S. D.; Alice Thelin, Stockton, Ill.; Bernice Gregg, Bagley; Helen Sievers, Shelby; Lillian Nelson, Bellevue; Winifred Conner, Bayard; Anita Andrews, Dallas Center; Gladys Baldus, Battle Creek; Nettie Wunderlich, Moneta; Louise Rosenfeld, De Sota; Vivian Bovenmeyer, Tabor; Ruth Northey, Johnston; Alverda James, West Liberty;

Jennie Nelson, Jesup; Evelyn Richardson, Sheffield; Esther Rosenau, Strahn; Ruth Lacy, Merrill.

Undergraduate women who will teach next year are: Marjorie Gaskill, Larrabee; Dorothy Dukes, Unionville; Blanche Cooley, Emerson; Esther Nisewanger, Lucas; Wanda Livingston, Grand Meadow Consolidated School, Washta; Evelyn Gehringer, Waucoma; Esther Smith, Glidden; Wilma Walner, Gray; Dorothy Blinn, Farragut; Esther Owens, Conroy; Helen De Lay, Grandview; Lucille Knott, Delta.

Nettie Barlow, Arnolds Park; Nadine Berkey, Hausell; Ruth Marshall, Ashton; Amanda Schwenck, Urbana; Ruth Tyrrel, Clutier; Florence Nelson, Garnavillo; Helen Comfort, Dinsdale; Lettie Ehnrsen, Woodward; Berdena Wehler, Lincoln-Lee Consolidated School, Albert City; Ann Hendershott, Oelwein; Erline Pack, Boxholm.

Engagements

Dorothy Blinn, Glidden, to Warren Groves, Iowa City.

Catharine Ford, Des Moines, to Herbert F. Engelking, Iowa Falls.

Laila Shuert, Ottumwa, to Ralph Reighard, '25, Chicago.

Helen Bascom, Ex. '25, Milford, to Edward Else, Chicago.

Marian Louise Gray, Des Moines, to Golden H. Cummings, Colo.

Hulda Jacobson, '27, Boone, to Howard Grau, Cedar Rapids.

Helen Sievers, '28, West Side, to Gilbert Gisberg, Manilla.

An announcement has been received of the marriage, May 17, of Miss Georgia Belle Elwell, a former member of the home economics staff, to Dr. J. R. Jackson, Milwaukee, at Miss Elwell's home in Minneapolis.

Miss Florence Fallgatter, Home Economics Agent for the Federal Board for Vocational Education visited Iowa vocational schools, the week of May 14, with Josephine McMullen, State Supervisor.