Rpp1 encodes a ULP1-NBS-LRR protein that controls immunity to Phakopsora pachyrhizi in soybean

Thumbnail Image
Pedley, Kerry
Pandey, Ajay
Ruck, Amy
Lincoln, Lori
Graham, Michelle
Major Professor
Committee Member
Journal Title
Journal ISSN
Volume Title
Whitham, Steven
Assistant Professor
Research Projects
Organizational Units
Organizational Unit
Plant Pathology and Microbiology
The Department of Plant Pathology and Microbiology and the Department of Entomology officially merged as of September 1, 2022. The new department is known as the Department of Plant Pathology, Entomology, and Microbiology (PPEM). The overall mission of the Department is to benefit society through research, teaching, and extension activities that improve pest management and prevent disease. Collectively, the Department consists of about 100 faculty, staff, and students who are engaged in research, teaching, and extension activities that are central to the mission of the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences. The Department possesses state-of-the-art research and teaching facilities in the Advanced Research and Teaching Building and in Science II. In addition, research and extension activities are performed off-campus at the Field Extension Education Laboratory, the Horticulture Station, the Agriculture Engineering/Agronomy Farm, and several Research and Demonstration Farms located around the state. Furthermore, the Department houses the Plant and Insect Diagnostic Clinic, the Iowa Soybean Research Center, the Insect Zoo, and BugGuide. Several USDA-ARS scientists are also affiliated with the Department.
Organizational Unit

The Department of Agronomy seeks to teach the study of the farm-field, its crops, and its science and management. It originally consisted of three sub-departments to do this: Soils, Farm-Crops, and Agricultural Engineering (which became its own department in 1907). Today, the department teaches crop sciences and breeding, soil sciences, meteorology, agroecology, and biotechnology.

The Department of Agronomy was formed in 1902. From 1917 to 1935 it was known as the Department of Farm Crops and Soils.

Dates of Existence

Historical Names

  • Department of Farm Crops and Soils (1917–1935)

Related Units

Journal Issue
Is Version Of

Phakopsora pachyrhizi is the causal agent of Asian soybean rust. Susceptible soybean plants infected by virulent isolates of P. pachyrhizi are characterized by tan-colored lesions and erumpent uredinia on the leaf surface. Germplasm screening and genetic analyses have led to the identification of seven loci, Rpp1 – Rpp7, that provide varying degrees of resistance to P. pachyrhizi (Rpp). Two genes, Rpp1 and Rpp1b, map to the same region on soybean chromosome 18. Rpp1 is unique among the Rpp genes in that it confers an immune response (IR) to avirulent P. pachyrhizi isolates. The IR is characterized by a lack of visible symptoms, whereas resistance provided by Rpp1b – Rpp7 results in red-brown foliar lesions. Rpp1 maps to a region spanning approximately 150 Kb on chromosome 18 between markers Sct_187 and Sat_064 in L85-2378 (Rpp1), an isoline developed from Williams 82 and PI 200492 (Rpp1). To identify Rpp1, we constructed a bacterial artificial chromosome (BAC) library from soybean accession PI 200492. Sequencing of the Rpp1 locus identified three homologous nucleotide binding site-leucine rich repeat (NBS-LRR) candidate resistance genes between Sct_187 and Sat_064. Each candidate gene is also predicted to encode an N-terminal ubiquitin-like protease 1 (ULP1) domain. Co-silencing of the Rpp1 candidates abrogated the immune response in the Rpp1 resistant soybean accession PI 200492, indicating that Rpp1 is a ULP1-NBS-LRR protein and plays a key role in the IR.


This is a manucript of an artilce published as Pedley, Kerry F., Ajay K. Pandey, Amy Ruck, Lori M. Lincoln, Steven A. Whitham, and Michelle A. Graham. "Rpp1 encodes a ULP1-NBS-LRR protein that controls immunity to Phakopsora pachyrhizi in soybean." Molecular Plant-Microbe Interactions (2018). doi: 10.1094/MPMI-07-18-0198-FI.