Dekker, Jack

Profile Picture
Email Address
Birth Date
Research Projects
Organizational Units
Organizational Unit

The Department of Agronomy seeks to teach the study of the farm-field, its crops, and its science and management. It originally consisted of three sub-departments to do this: Soils, Farm-Crops, and Agricultural Engineering (which became its own department in 1907). Today, the department teaches crop sciences and breeding, soil sciences, meteorology, agroecology, and biotechnology.

The Department of Agronomy was formed in 1902. From 1917 to 1935 it was known as the Department of Farm Crops and Soils.

Dates of Existence

Historical Names

  • Department of Farm Crops and Soils (1917–1935)

Related Units

Organizational Unit
College of Agriculture and Life Sciences

The College of Agriculture and Life Sciences is one of the world's leading institutions of agriculture. Building on 150 years of excellence the college provides leadership in science, education and research, areas vital to the future of Iowa, the nation and the world.

The roots of the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences go back to 1858 when Iowa established the State Agricultural College and Model Farm. It officially opened in 1869 as the first coed land-grant in the nation. That was among many college “firsts,” including the first courses in forestry, dairying and bacteriology in the nation. (Learn More)

Dates of Existence

Historical Names

  • Department of Agriculture (1858–1959)
  • College of Agriculture (1959–2007)

Job Title
Professor Emeritus
Last Name
First Name

Search Results