Controlling Magnetism via Transition Metal Exchange in the Series of Intermetallics Eu(T1,T2)5In (T = Cu, Ag, Au)

Thumbnail Image
Mudring, Anja-Verena
Smetana, Volodymyr
Pecharsky, Vitalij
Mudryk, Yaroslav
Major Professor
Committee Member
Journal Title
Journal ISSN
Volume Title
Research Projects
Organizational Units
Organizational Unit
Ames National Laboratory

Ames National Laboratory is a government-owned, contractor-operated national laboratory of the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE), operated by and located on the campus of Iowa State University in Ames, Iowa.

For more than 70 years, the Ames National Laboratory has successfully partnered with Iowa State University, and is unique among the 17 DOE laboratories in that it is physically located on the campus of a major research university. Many of the scientists and administrators at the Laboratory also hold faculty positions at the University and the Laboratory has access to both undergraduate and graduate student talent.

Organizational Unit
Materials Science and Engineering

The Department of Materials Science and Engineering teaches the composition, microstructure, and processing of materials as well as their properties, uses, and performance. These fields of research utilize technologies in metals, ceramics, polymers, composites, and electronic materials.

The Department of Materials Science and Engineering was formed in 1975 from the merger of the Department of Ceramics Engineering and the Department of Metallurgical Engineering.

Dates of Existence

Related Units

Journal Issue
Is Version Of
Ames Laboratory

Three series of intermetallic compounds Eu(T1,T2)5In (T = Cu, Ag, Au) have been investigated in full compositional ranges. Single crystals of all compounds have been obtained by self-flux and were analyzed by single X-ray diffraction revealing the representatives to fall into two structure types: CeCu6 (oP28, Pnma, a = 8.832(3)–9.121(2) Å, b = 5.306(2)–5.645(1) Å, c = 11.059(4)–11.437(3) Å, V = 518.3(3)–588.9(2) Å3) and YbMo2Al4 (tI14, I4/mmm, a = 5.417(3)–5.508(1) Å, c = 7.139(2)– 7.199(2) Å, V = 276.1(2)–285.8(1) Å3). The structural preference was found to depend on the cation/anion size ratio, while the positional preference within the CeCu6 type structure shows an apparent correlation with the anion size. Chemical compression, hence, a change in cell volume, which occurs upon anion substitution appears to be the main driving force for the change of magnetic ordering. While EuAg5In shows antiferromagnetic behavior at low temperatures, mixing Cu and Au within the same type of structure results in considerable changes in the magnetism. The Eu(Cu,Au)5In alloys with CeCu6 structure show complex magnetic behaviors and strong magnetic field-induced spin-reorientation transition with the critical field of the transition being dependent on Cu/Au ratio. The alloys adopting the YbMo2Al4 type structure are ferromagnets exhibiting unusually high magnetic moments. The heat capacity of EuAu2.66Cu2.34In reveals a double-peak structure evolving with the magnetic field. However, low-temperature X-ray powder diffraction does not show a structural transition.