High field magnetotransport and specific heat in YbAgCu4

Thumbnail Image
Lacerda, A.
Graf, T.
Hundley, M. F.
Torikachvili, M. S.
Lawrence, J. M.
Thompson, J. D.
Gajewski, D.
Fisk, Z.
Major Professor
Committee Member
Journal Title
Journal ISSN
Volume Title
Elsevier B.V.
Canfield, Paul
Distinguished Professor
Research Projects
Organizational Units
Organizational Unit
Ames National Laboratory

Ames National Laboratory is a government-owned, contractor-operated national laboratory of the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE), operated by and located on the campus of Iowa State University in Ames, Iowa.

For more than 70 years, the Ames National Laboratory has successfully partnered with Iowa State University, and is unique among the 17 DOE laboratories in that it is physically located on the campus of a major research university. Many of the scientists and administrators at the Laboratory also hold faculty positions at the University and the Laboratory has access to both undergraduate and graduate student talent.

Journal Issue
Is Version Of
The electrical resistivity (rho) and magnetoresistance of polycrystalline YbAgCu4 have been measured at temperatures between 25 mK and 300 K, and at magnetic fields (B) up to 18 T. The magnetoresistance (rho(B) - rho(0))/rho(0)) is positive at all temperatures below 200 K and reaches its maximum of 60% at 18 T and 25 mK. The field-and temperature-dependent resistivity does not scale in a simple way. The opposite sign of the magnetoresistance at ambient and high pressure can be explained qualitatively by crystal-field effects lifting the degeneracy of the J = 7/2 groundstate. The linear coefficient of the specific heat (gamma) measured at fields up to 10 T shows a quadratic field dependence. We did not find a linear relation between gamma(2) and A, the T-2-coefficient of the temperature-dependent resistivity, with the applied magnetic field as the implicit parameter.
This is a manuscript of an article published as Lacerda, A., T. Graf, M. F. Hundley, M. S. Torikachvili, J. M. Lawrence, J. D. Thompson, D. Gajewski, P. C. Canfield, and Z. Fisk. "High field magnetotransport and specific heat in YbAgCu4." Physica B: Condensed Matter 206 (1995): 358-360. DOI: 10.1016/0921-4526(94)00458-8. Copyright 1995 Elsevier B.V. Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International (CC BY-NC-ND 4.0). Posted with permission.